Je t'aime
Donation
Shops
Post cards
Français English Español

The authors - I love You : The Wall


Frederic Baron

Frederic BARON

Inventor of the Wall and collector of "I Love You".

Since 1992 Frederic Baron has collected more than 1,000 I Love Yous written in more than 300 languages and different dialects. It is in the streets of Paris that he made his tour of the world. In 1998 he wrote "The Book of I Love Yous" and distributed 50,000 free copies in France. A musician, he also recorded the magic phrase as spoken by most of the men, women and children he met. Author and composer, Frédéric Baron made his first record when he was 17 years of age, "The Key of the Sun". Since then he has written 40 love songs. In Montmartre he made his first appearances as a pianist at "Chez Ginette", "Au Tir Bouchon", and "Au Piano Bar", and it was there as well that he presented a song tour. Therefore, it is in Montmartre where he chose to create The Wall .

An "I Love You" which says everything.

I took a long time to say Je t'aime. It was easier to say "ti amo" " te quiero". "Je t'aime", but no, I was blocked. Today, I still need the intermediary of writing or music, which is why I compose love songs: "Je t'aime to Destruction", "Dare to Say Je t'aime", "Never Two Without You". I dream of a real "I love you" which says all, which transgresses the wall of misunderstandings, which abolishes the border of differences.

It is in this vein that I began to collect I Love Yous in the original version. It was not just a collector's hobby. It was rather a way to go around the world without leaving Paris and its suburbs. The refusals were a rarity. The sheet of paper on which my interlocutor wrote his phrase was always the same size, 21 x 29.7 cm. However, it was he who chose the colour: blue, green, red, black… Under the original I noted the country from which it came, the language, its pronunciation and its transcription into French.

I now have a thousand pages: my world tour is contained in three files.

To go among others and ask them to write "I love you" is to create a passport which erases borders and opens hearts. I took note of it, but I understood at the same time, that it was not only a question of words and that love is subject to other laws. One day a civil servant from an Embassy of an African country told me: "you Westerners say I love you right away. In our country, a woman serves the best piece of meat on the plate to her man and that becomes a declaration of love". Cocteau also said, "there is no love, there is only proof of love".

One does not play with love. It is a serious affair. Even without knowing what I wanted to do with them, the "I love yous" took me a long way. They forced me to treat them like a real job. Please understand, I certainly do not pretend to have accomplished a scientific work: on the contrary, if this venture has succeeded it is because it has conserved its romantic side, its original purity. Men and women of all races and all walks of life have left their trace on paper like a gift fallen from heaven. A free gesture.

Little by little as I advanced in my study, I surrounded myself with garanties. I did research at the Musée de l'Homme, at UNESCO, and in collaboration with the language laboratory of CNRS. I submitted my texts to linguists at INALCO for proofreading.

Thus, I measured the complexity of each language. For the Maghreb alone, I collected six Arabic versions of I love you. Whether it is written in Latin or in Cyrillic, "Volim te" is written in the same way.

I would not be disappointed if a spelling error slipped through the controls. What is important to me is the grammar of the heart.

Claire Kito



Claire KITO


After training in various approaches to Western Art, Claire Kito studied Chinese calligraphy and Far Eastern painting at the Cernuschi Museum with the Korean master, Ung-no Lee.

Since 1990 she has run the Chinese calligraphy workshop at the ADAC (Association for the Development of Cultural Activities) of the city of Paris.
She has exhibited her work in several group calligraphy shows. Her pictorial art is nurtured jointly by her experience of all manner of brush stroke and by her study of signs.


With Hand on Heart

I met Frédéric Baron in Spring 1997 when he showed me his collection of specimens of the words "I love you" handwritten in various languages and dialects from around the World. The mere idea of bringing together all these words of love in a gigantic fresco struck me as a wonderful project for a calligrapher!

All the "I love you's" collected affectionately by Frédéric Baron immediately fascinated me, standing as they do for both letters and for living breaths.

This project lined up well with my own approach as an artist: in painting I trace human figures as if they were writing, paying most attention to the space which unites them, separates them, brings them closer, or superposes them one on another. The relationship with the "I love you's" was obvious: the specimens of handwritten words were themselves graphic elements which I would need to connect in one single calligraphy.

In Chinese calligraphy the hand is guided by the heart, when you copy a calligraphy, you feel the spirit of the person who wrote it (in Chinese, the character "Xin" means both heart and spirit). Without ranking the samples esthetically, I considered each a complete work of its own: as I re-worked them, I preserved their rhythms and graphic characteristics, by respecting the strokes themselves whether fine or trembling, expansive or constricted.

Then all these short breaths had to be federated, setting forth their many personalities as naturally as possible, while safeguarding their legibility.
This was marvelous research into what amounts to listening to gestures.
I sat on the floor of my studio surrounded by all of these words of love. My hand took up an "I love you", a "Yiku zolélé", a "Te quiero", my choice directed by the softness or strength of the handwriting. The "I love you's" formed something of a giant puzzle. My only concern was that they hook together harmoniously to become the stones of one wall cemented by love.

Our hope that "Le mur des je t'aime" be a garden surrounded by greenery has come to be.
I trust that it will be a place for dreaming and for all people to open up to one another.

Interview by Mr. François Jaquemont
Translated from French by King's Fountain.

retour Back to top retour

Les auteurs

Frédéric BARON

Inventeur du mur des je t'aime et collectionneur des "je t'aime"

Frédéric BaronFrédéric Baron depuis 1992 a recueilli plus de 1000 "je t'aime" manuscrits en plus de 300 langues et dialectes différents. C'est dans les rues de Paris qu'il a fait son tour du monde.
En 1998 il a écrit "Le livre des je t'aime" distribué gratuitement en France à 50.000 exemplaires. Musicien, il a aussi enregistré la phrase magique auprès de la plupart des personnes, hommes femmes et enfants, qu'il a rencontré. Auteur compositeur, Frédéric Baron a enregistré son premier disque à 17 ans, "la clé du soleil". Depuis il a écrit quarante chansons d'amour." A Montmartre il a fait ses premières gammes en tant que pianiste "Chez Ginette", "Au tir bouchon", au "Piano bar" et présenté un tour de chant. C'est à Montmartre qu'il a choisi d'ériger "Le mur des je t'aime".

Un "Je t'aime" qui dirait tout

J'ai mis longtemps à dire "je t'aime", "I love you", "ti amo" c'était plus simple. "Je t'aime", non, je bloquais. Alors, aujourd'hui encore je passe par l'écriture, par la musique, je compose des chansons d'amour : "Je t'aime à tout détruire", "Oser dire je t'aime", "Jamais deux sans toi". Je rêve d'un vrai "je t'aime", qui dirait tout, qui franchirait le mur des malentendus, qui abolirait la frontière des différences.

C'est dans cet esprit que j'ai commencé à cueillir Les je t'aime en version originale. Ce n'était pas par marotte de collectionneur. C'était plutôt une façon de faire le tour du monde, sans quitter Paris et sa proche banlieue. Les refus étaient rares. La feuille sur laquelle mon interlocuteur écrivait la phrase avait toujours le même format 21 x 29.7 cm. Mais il choisissait une couleur: bleu, vert, rouge, noir... En bas de l'original, je notais le nom du pays, le nom de la langue, sa prononciation phonétique, sa transcription en français.

Maintenant j'ai mille feuillets : le tour du monde réparti en trois classeurs.

Aller au devant des autres et leur faire écrire "Je t'aime", c'est se servir d'un passeport qui efface les frontières et ouvre les coeurs. Je l'ai constaté, mais j'ai compris en même temps, qu'il n'y a pas que les mots, et, que l'amour obéit à d'autres lois. Un jour une attachée d'ambassade d'un pays africain m'a dit "Vous autres, Occidentaux, vous dites "Je t'aime" à tout bout de champ. Chez nous, une femme servira à un homme le meilleur morceau d'un plat de viande et cela devient un serment d'amour". Cocteau disait aussi : "II n'y a pas d'amour. II n'y a que des preuves d'amour".

On ne badine pas avec l'amour. C'est une affaire sérieuse. Sans même que je sache encore ce que je voulais en faire, Les je t'aime m'ont entraîné toujours plus loin. Ils m'ont obligé à les traiter comme un vrai travail. Attention : Je ne prétends pas avoir accompli une oeuvre scientifique : si l'entreprise a réussi, c'est au contraire parce qu'elle a conservé son côté fleur bleue, sa pureté originelle. Des hommes et des femmes, de toutes races et de toutes conditions laissent une trace sur le papier comme un cadeau tombé du ciel. Geste gratuit.

Mais au fur et à mesure que j'avançais, je me suis entouré de garanties. J'ai fait des recherches au Musée de l'Homme, à l'Unesco, en collaboration avec le laboratoire de langues du CNRS, j'ai soumis les textes aux linguistes de l'INALCO et sollicité des contre-épreuves.

J'ai alors mesuré la complexité de chaque langue. Pour le seul Maghreb, j'ai recueilli 6 versions arabes de "Je t'aime". Et qu'il s'écrive en latin ou en cyrillique, "Volim te" se prononce de la même manière.

Je ne serais pas déçu si une faute d'orthographe a échappé à tous les contrôles. Ce qui m'importe, c'est la grammaire du coeur.

Claire KITO

Claire Kito

Formée initialement aux approches multiples de l'art occidental, Claire Kito a étudié la calligraphie chinoise et la peinture extrême-orientale au musée Cernuschi, auprès du Maître coréen Ung-no Lee. Aujourd'hui, elle est responsable des ateliers de calligraphie chinoise à l'ADAC, Ville de Paris, (Association pour le Développement de l'Animation Culturelle). Elle participe à des manifestations de calligraphie et expose ses œuvres. Son art pictural se nourrit de l'expérience du geste et de l'étude des signes.

La main sur le cœur

J'ai rencontré Frédéric Baron au printemps 1997 qui m'a présenté son recueil d'écritures du mot "je t'aime" dans de nombreuses langues et dialectes du monde entier. Réunir tous ces mots d'amour en une grande fresque, quel beau projet pour un calligraphe!

Tous Les je t'aime amoureusement rassemblés par Frédéric Baron, m'ont immédiatement fascinée, représentant à la fois des lettres et des souffles.

Ce projet rencontrait ma démarche artistique: en peinture je trace des personnages comme des écritures, m'occupant essentiellement de l'espace qui les unit, les éloigne, les rapproche, les superpose. Aussi le lien fut-il évident avec Les je t'aime©: les écritures manuscrites étaient autant d'éléments graphiques qu'il fallait que je relie en une seule calligraphie.

Dans la calligraphie chinoise, on dit que la main est guidée par le cœur ainsi lorsqu'on copie une calligraphie on ressent l'esprit de la personne qui a écrit, (en chinois , le caractère xin signifie à la fois le cœur et l'esprit). Sans échelle de valeur plastique, j'ai considéré chaque écriture comme une œuvre en soi: lorsque je les retravaillais, j'en gardais le rythme, la graphie, dans le respect du geste, habile ou tremblé, large ou resseré.

Ensuite il a fallu unir tous ces petits souffles, représentant autant de personnalités diverses le plus naturellement possible, en garder la lisibilité.
Ce fut une merveilleuse recherche à l'écoute du geste.
Je me suis assise par terre dans mon atelier entourée de tous ces mots d'amour, puis ma main a pris un "Je t'aime", un "Yiku zolélé", un "Te quiero", la souplesse ou la fermeté de l'écriture dirigeant mon choix. Les je t'aime formaient comme un puzzle géant et mon seul souci était qu'ils s'emboîtent harmonieusement, qu'ils deviennent les pierres d'un même mur qui aurait l'amour pour ciment.

Notre souhait que Le mur des je t'aime soit dans un jardin entouré de verdure a été exaucé.
J'espère qu'il sera un lieu de rêve et d'ouverture aux autres.

Propos recueillis par M. François Jaquemont en 1999.

La boutique du mur des je t'aime

La boutique

Découvrez les souvenirs du mur des je t'aime.

Le mur des je t'aime

est implanté à Paris, sur la butte Montmartre, place des Abbesses, dans le square Jehan Rictus Métro : Abbesses.

fond écran Je t'aime

Autres sujets


Vous souhaitez soutenir
le mur des je t'aime.

Paypal